Today’s Heroes: Neighbours Helping Neighbours

Everyone in the Neighbours Helping Neighbours program are feeling like heroes today.  Here’s the story of the person they helped:

Until 2 days ago I had, unfortunately, never heard of your organization.  I am a partially physically disabled senior, as well as currently dealing with depression, who desperately needed some help and was referred to you. I live on a very tiny CPP disability, with no other financial resources to pay for assistance.

On Thursday when I got your number I made a desperate call for urgent help I needed Friday to totally dismantle a Murphy bed-in-a-cabinet, that was beyond my abilities.  I have no family or friends to help me.  The bed had to be out of my apartment before the weekend due to conflicts with the building manager who does not want these beds allowed, in case they harbour bed bugs. Mine didn’t, but it had to be removed anyway or I might lose my housing.

THANKFULLY, I WAS CONNECTED TO NEIGHBOURS HELPING NEIGHBOURS, AND A GENTLEMAN NAMED JACKIE late Thursday afternoon, who, after I explained my dire situation, agreed to come the very next morning and help me!  I had been so stressed out because I also have a dying friend in hospital, and was seriously depressed about the bed, since I couldn’t afford a new one.

GOD BLESS JACKIE AND THE 2 MEN HE BROUGHT TO HELP ME! I had been able to do a little work and dismantle a small part of the bed.  They did the rest, which was a lot of work since the cabinet was 7′ high, and then loaded it all on their truck! I had borrowed the money to pay the dump fee, if required, and a small donation.  I wish I could afford more for all the work your organization does, and all your staff who helped.

I am so grateful.  My stress and depression are lifting because I don’t have to be bothered by my building manager and a hardly used bed is being donated to me.

THANK YOU SO MUCH! I DON’T KNOW WHAT I WOULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT YOUR HELP.  I MIGHT HAVE BEEN EVICTED IF I COULDN’T DISPOSE OF THE BED!

Sincerely,

Lynda

To learn more about L’Arche Greater Vancouver’s Neighbours Helping Neighbours Program, please call 604-435-9544 ex. 29.

About L'Arche Greater Vancouver

L'Arche Greater Vancouver is a charitable organization that provides residential care and day programs for adults with developmental disabilities. We are located in Burnaby, BC Canada.
This entry was posted in Neighbours Helping Neighbours and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

