In Sue’s Words

I’ve been living at Nazirah House for over 20 years and I joined the Emmaus Day Program 7 years ago.

We do a lot of things here at L’Arche. At the Day Program, I go bowling, shopping and on Fridays we invite guests to have lunch with us and I help prepare the food. I go to community prayer on Wednesdays with my House and I spend a lot of time with Caroline (I see her almost every day at Emmaus) and Barb from Bethel House.

I have learned how to do many things. I joined the knitting club and learned how to knit. This year my family and friends helped me buy an iPad and I am learning to type on it.

I have made a lot of friends here. Last year we celebrated my 47th birthday in Emmaus. We had tea and coffee with the birthday cake.  My friends at Emmaus made me an ice cream cake which is my favourite and they also made me a card and a banner. Everyone sang “happy birthday” and “she is a jolly good fella.” When we celebrate a birthday in L’Arche we do it in a special way. We light a candle and pass it around the circle.  When it is your turn to hold the candle you say what the gifts of the person being celebrated are. When people tell me what my gifts are it makes me really happy.

by Sue and Caroline

Image

About L'Arche Greater Vancouver

L'Arche Greater Vancouver is a charitable organization that provides residential care and day programs for adults with developmental disabilities. We are located in Burnaby, BC Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Sue’s Words

  1. Hatsuho says:

    Sue, you are the gift. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

