New Assistant Interview – Csilla

Name: Csilla

House: Emily House

Where are you coming from?

I’m from Hungary. I was born and raised there.

How did you hear about L’Arche?

I first learned about L’Arche through my friend who works in a L’Arche community in Winnipeg. She told me that people in L’Arche were friendly and caring. Mealtimes are long here because like a family they talk a lot of their day, how they’re feeling and check in with each other. That’s what makes L’Arche a home rather than an institution. The assistants care deeply for the core people*.

Before coming here, I was studying in a University. I’m invested in learning, developing skills and knowledge like my English and I am open to new experiences to learn from them. That’s what also attracted me to work at L’Arche.

What was your first impression of L’Arche?

I like it! I’m getting along with my colleagues and the core people. When I first got here, the house members were on their way back from their summer holidays. They were away but I was greeted by a welcome banner on my door signed by all the members of the house and a gift. I’m starting to get to know my housemates better. I really like talking to Mary, Philip is a very funny guy and Rose Marie was shy at first but she is starting to open up to me.

This job is very different from other jobs; it’s not like a typical job where you come in at 9am and leave at 5pm and you’re done. It’s more personal than that. We share a home and life together. Everyone cares for each other not as co-workers but as friends.

I really like this community.

IMG_0429

About L'Arche Greater Vancouver

L'Arche Greater Vancouver is a charitable organization that provides residential care and day programs for adults with developmental disabilities. We are located in Burnaby, BC Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

